Inner Sydney High School


Telephone(02) 9578 2020

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

Frequently asked questions

What are the school’s educational principles?

Inner Sydney High School’s architectural design has been developed around the following Educational Principles:

  • facilities that are readily accessible and flexible to meet the demands of an evolving curriculum, in line with innovative learning space principles
  • flexible and well-connected teaching and learning spaces that enable a variety of teaching and learning practices
  • spaces that are engaging and supportive for students and teachers
  • technology-rich settings with emphasis on mobility and flexibility
  • healthy and environmentally sustainable learning spaces
  • innovative, connected outdoor spaces that allow for play and collaborative learning.

Will Inner Sydney High School have a specialisation?

The new high school will not be a specialist school, although over time it will develop its own identity and uniqueness. It will be a comprehensive Year 7 to 12 co-educational high school. How the school’s identity and uniqueness manifests will be an exciting challenge for the new school and its community.

What subject selections will be available?

As for all government and non-government schools in NSW, the curriculum for Inner Sydney High School will be consistent with the requirements of the NSW Educational Standards Authority (NESA) incorporating the Australian Curriculum. NESA is responsible for developing the syllabuses to be taught in NSW schools, for students from Kindergarten through to Year 12.

Extra-curricular activities available

School Calendar 2024 Planner


Session Times - Face to Face Learning